Register Now

Login

Lost Password

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link and will create a new password via email.

Login

Register Now

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit.Morbi adipiscing gravdio, sit amet suscipit risus ultrices eu.Fusce viverra neque at purus laoreet consequa.Vivamus vulputate posuere nisl quis consequat.

How to become a Commissioner of Oaths in South Africa

How to become a Commissioner of Oaths in South Africa

Are you a marriage officer, or a lawyer or a policeman? If yes, then you can apply to become a commissioner of oaths

Requirement Documentation to become a Commissioner of Oaths

Please note that all documentation on the site is in PDF eFormPDF eFormformat and require Acrobat Reader to open and read.

Designation of Commissioners of Oaths in terms of Section 6 of the Justices of the Peace and Commissioners of Oaths Act, 1963 – 10 July 1998. Powers regarding oaths outside the republic under section 8(1)(a).

Being an ex officio commissioner of oaths, is only for the period while you are in the specific post/capacity of the post. Therefore, as soon as you resign, retired or change careers, even only change branch of a company, you need to apply again.

For further information, contact the following officials at our regional offices.

  • Eastern Cape 
    Director: Legal Services (M Gwintsa)
    Tel: 043 702 7000/7068, E-mail: MGwintsa@justice.gov.za
  • Free State 
    Director: Legal Services (David Ramolibe)
    Tel: 051 407 1808, E-mail: DRamolibe@justice.gov.za
  • Gauteng 
    Legal Administration Officer: Legal Services (Tshilidzi Ramathikhithi)
    Tel: 011 332 9070, E-mail: TRamathikhithi@justice.gov.za
  • KwaZulu-Natal
    Director: Legal Services (Pat Moodley)
    Email: PMoodley@justice.gov.za
    Assistant-Director: Court Services (Mr G A Jonker)
    Tel: 031 372 3056, Fax: 086 507 1444 / 031 372 3185,
    E-mail: gjonker@justice.gov.za
  • Limpopo
    Director: Legal Services (Tladi Raisebe)
    Tel: 015 287 2000, Email: RTladi@justice.gov.za

    • MODIMOLLE CLUSTER: Bela-Bela; Ellisras; Phalala; Thabazimbi; Naboomspruit; Modimolle; Northam
      Mr Kgosiemang, Tel: 015 287 2083, E-mail: MKgosiemang@justice.gov.za
    • THOHOYANDOU CLUSTER: Giyani; Thohoyandou; Louis Trichardt; Musina; Mutale; Tshilwavhusiku; Dzanani; High Court Thohoyandou
      Mr Sebetso, Tel: 015 287 2042, E-mail: MSebetso@justice.gov.za
    • THABAMOOPO CLUSTER:  Sekhukhune; Nebo; Thabamoopo; Praktiseer
      Ms Nyamandi, Tel: 015 287 2045, E-mail: PNyamandi@justice.gov.za
    • TZANEEN CLUSTER: Tzaneen; Ritavi; Naphuno; Namakgale; Lulekani; Phalaborwa
      Ms Nyamandi, Tel: 015 287 2045, E-mail: PNyamandi@justice.gov.za
    • POLOKWANE CLUSTER: Polokwane; Mankweng; Seshego; Bochum; Mokerong; Mokopane; High Court Polokwane
      Ms Lebea, Tel: 015 287 2081, E-mail: ILebea@justice.gov.za
    • MALAMULELE CLUSTER: Malamulele; Vuwani; Hlanganani; Bolobedu; Tshitale; Sekgosese; Tiyani
      Mr Shabangu, Tel: 015 287 2081, E-mail: JShabangu@justice.gov.za
  • Mpumalanga 
    Director: Legal Services (Paul Mthimunye)
    Tel: 013 753 9328, E-mail: PMthimunye@justice.gov.za
  • North West 
    Director: Legal Services (Motshabi Setlhako)
    Tel: 018 397 7000, E-mail: MSetlhako@justice.gov.za
  • Northern Cape
    Director: Legal Services (Adv. D Plaatjies)
    Tel: 053 839 0000, E-mail: dplaatjies@justice.gov.za or
    Mr. R Motlekar
    Tel: 053 839 0000, E-mail: RMotlekar@justice.gov.za
  • Western Cape
    Director: Legal Administration (Ms Ashika Singh)
    Tel: 021 462 5471, Email: AshikaSingh@justice.gov.za

Study Law Courses | Studies Info

About refilwe